Lust, Greed, Gluttony, and Gaming Journalism.

riptyed

The first time I knew something was wrong with gaming journalism was several months before I had ever heard of #GamerGate or anyone had told me something was wrong.   Gamespot.com was my go-to site for gaming news and reviews at the time, and the PC port for Dead Rising 3 had just come out.  I already finished Dead Rising 3 for Xbox One, thoroughly enjoyed it, and Gamespot had rightfully given the console version a good score and a glowing review.  I was therefore very surprised to see the score for the PC port of the exact same game, a paperweight score of 3 on the same site.

Obviously this meant that something must have been lost in the port process.  Terrible performance issues or controls that didn’t translate well –someone had gotten lazy in the porting over.  Or so I thought.  As I began reading the review to see…

View original post 514 more words

Leave a Reply

